College of Engineering Awards

Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award

Texnikoi is an organization of undergraduate students in the College of Engineering that recognizes qualities of leadership, integrity and personality as exemplified by active participation and leadership in extracurricular activities. Each year the active membership of Texnikoi selects one of the younger alumni of the College of Engineering as a recipient of the Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award. This award is based upon their achievements since graduation, evaluated in light of the objectives of Texnikoi.

Submit a Nomination

2016 Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award Recipient

Jonathan Blank

Jonathan Blank is the ceramic matrix composites design section leader at GE Aviation, the company’s fastest growing section and one of the most ambitious materials development programs to advance green technologies and power output in aircraft engines. Under his leadership, this class of materials has enabled the highest engine core temperatures and pressures ever achieved in aviation industry and the first certified commercial jet engine (LEAP-1A engine for the Airbus A320 family of planes) to use this class of material in the high-pressure turbine section.

Blank has served in various roles since joining GE Aviation in 2002. As section leader for product definition engineering, he led a global team of over 1,000 engineers that support GE aircraft engines. From 2010-2012, he oversaw a $1 billion annual budget to develop the strategy, processes and tools to deliver several aircraft engine technologies, including the GEnx, LEAP, Passport 20, Honda and GE38 engines. These are at the heart of green energy solutions that reduce fuel consumption in Airbus A320 and Boeing 737 by 15 percent, saving over $3 million per aircraft.

He is an active participant in STEM and diversity outreach and education at GE and in the community. At GE, Blank is involved in building diversity in engineering by sponsoring and participating in events/summits. He has also served on the board for iSPACE, a non-profit providing STEM education, and mentored at-risk students and promoted STEM careers as a program leader for Aiken High School’s Young Scholars Program. In addition, he has volunteered for COSI, Freestore Foodbank and the Cincinnati Ronald McDonald House. 

Blank holds a bachelor’s (’01), master’s (’02) and PhD (’08) in materials science and engineering from Ohio State.

Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award Past Recipients

Year Recipient Graduation Department/Year
2016 Jonathan Blank MSE 01, 02, 08
2015 Chakka Parker ECE 02, EE 04
2014 Gary O. Spitznogle CHE 98
2013 Tamer Ibrahim EE 96, 98, 03
2012 James I. Hileman ME 98, 00, 04
2011 Jackie Marshall DiMarco ME 95, 96
2009 Daniel Wieczynski ME 90
2008 Vineet Arya EE, FCOB 93, 00
2007 John Russell ME, 94, 00
2006 Karen Eisenloffel ARCH, CE 83, 90
2005 Steven Auvil ME 88
2004 John Rudolph ISE 90
2003 Marybeth Lima AG 88,FAB 96
2002 Nancy Porter WE 85
2001 Richard Brandon CHE 83
2000 Wes Blankenship ME 86, 88, 91
1999 John Ludwig EE 82
1998 Nancy Dawes CHE 81
1997 David Tatman IE 80
1996 Douglas Brown CHE 78, 79
1994 Jacquelyn Kovach WE 76
1993 Gary Tatterson CHE 74, 77
1992 Colette Pierce-Burnette ISE 80
1991 Karen Murphy CHE 79
1990 Douglas Smith CHE 68, 69
1989 Dr. Kenneth McKelvey CHE 67, 68
1988 Jeffrey Rodek ME 75
1987 Dr. Eric Grulke CHE 71,72,75
1986 John Salladay CHE 68, 68
1985 Dr. Eugene Jarrett CHE 66, 68
1984 Bruce Wilson MIN 65
1983 Kerry Hertenstein CHE 71,71
1982 Thad Perry ISE 67
1981 Karen Hendricks CHE 71
1980 Thomas L. Thomas EE 66, 66
1979 William Lowrie CHE 66
1977 William Fuller IE 48
1975 Robert Stafford EE 61
1974 Thomas Eyerman ARCH 63
1973 Philip Stevens IE 56
1972 Larry Hench CER 64
1971 Thomas Fitz CHE 66
1970 Dr. Earl Dietz CER 59
1969 James Bassett LARCH 52
1968 Phillip Bowser ME 50
1964 Kent Brandt ARCH 51
1963 James Farst CHE 56
1962 Dr. James Johnson CER 47
1959 Robert Sessions IE 48
1958 John Wright MIN 49, 50