College of Engineering Awards

The Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Engineering Innovation

The Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Engineering Innovation was established in 1988 by Ralph L. Boyer, a 1924 Ohio State graduate in mechanical engineering. The recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Submit a Nomination


The award will be presented to a faculty team or to an individual faculty member in the College of Engineering that has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education. The award is meant to recognize the demonstrated impact of innovation in the education process, including the design, development and application of new pedagogy, teaching tools (e.g., multi-media), and assessment methodologies on the overall quality of the undergraduate engineering education process/experience at Ohio State. Selection will favor faculty whose contributions have made important, pervasive improvements in the engineering education process with a significant potential for long term impact.

Please note that this award is not intended to recognize lifetime achievement or high teaching ability, or as a grant to support new ideas that have not been implemented. 


Each department in the college may submit one team, or individual for nomination. A letter of nomination, at least one external letter of support, and supporting materials shall be submitted as the nomination packet. Supporting materials should be brief and to the point, yet with sufficient information to permit rational selection. At least one letter from an external source, solicited without input from the nominee, is required.

Reminder: The nomination letter should be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Honors and Awards Committee will evaluate nominations and make a recommendation to the Dean of the College of Engineering, who selects the award recipient.


The application materials will all be submitted electronically. The total nomination package must be submitted by January 13, 2017.

Boyer Award for Excellence Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2017 Jacqueline Gargus, knowlton school of architecture
2016 Jeffrey Bons, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2015 Peter M. Anderson,materials science and engineering
Wolfgang Windl,materials science and engineering
2014 Frank Croft, civil, environmental and geodetic engineering
2013 Mechanical and aerospace engineering team:
Lisa M. Abrams
Chad E. Bivens
Blaine W. Lilly
Joseph D. West
2012 Jin Wang, electrical and computer engineering
2011 Furrukh Khan, electrical and computer engineering
2010 Robert A. Siston, mechanical engineering

Bradley Clymer, electrical and computer engineering


Kevin Passino, electrial and computer engineering
John Merrill, first-year engineering
Harold Walker, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
Roger Dzwonczyk, college of medicine
Erin Galloway, office of international affairs

2007 Andrew Ward, food, agricultural and biological engineering
2006 Peter Anderson, materials science and engineering
Neelam Soundarajan, computer science and engineering
2005 Ann Christy, food, agricultural and biological engineering

David Tomasko, chemical engineering
Tony Luscher, mechanical engineering

Blaine Lilly, industrial, welding and systems engineering
Audeen Fentiman, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
Yann Guezennec, mechanical engineering
Kay Bea Jones, architecture


Tim Long, computer science and engineering
Bruce Weide, computer science and engineering
1999 The Freshman Engineering Honors Team
John Demel, engineering graphics
Richard Freuler, aeronautical and astronautical engineering
Nela Lakos, math
John Merrill, assessment
Michael Miller, engineering graphics
George Staab, mechanical engineering
Alan VanHeuvelen, physics
Many others have contributed to the planning and organization of the program and/or teaching honors classes.
1998 Gary Kinzel, mechanical engineering
1997 Peter M. Anderson, materials science and engineering
1996 James F. Davis, chemical engineering