College of Engineering Awards

Alumni Awards

Each year, the College of Engineering presents awards to alumni deemed to be extraordinary in their personal achievements, developments they contributed to in their field of expertise, or their service to the College of Engineering or department. The Excellence in Engineering & Architecture Alumni Awards are presented during a luncheon ceremony.

We welcome your nomination of individuals to receive the following awards. To submit a nomination, click on the "Nomination Form" link and submit the information as requested.

The 2017 nomination window is closed.

Distinguished Alumnus

The "Distinguished Alumnus" Awards were established by the faculty of the College of Engineering at The Ohio State University in 1954. Their purpose is to recognize distinguished achievement in one's profession by reason of significant inventions, important research or design, administrative leadership, or genius in production.
Submit a Nomination | Award Criteria and Awardees

The Benjamin G. Lamme Meritorious Achievement Medal

Benjamin G. Lamme, ME 1888, achieved international acclaim as a pioneering inventor and engineer for the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company in Pittsburgh. For 21 years he served as chief engineer for Westinghouse. Among his 162 patents were new inventions on railway motors, induction motors, converters, and the developments pertaining to the first Niagara Falls power system. In his Will he provided that a gold medal be presented annually to a technical graduate of his alma mater for "meritorious achievement in engineering."
Submit a Nomination Award Criteria and Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership

This special award honors an exceptional individual whose sustained pioneering spirit and outstanding leadership has inspired others and has had a profound economic, environmental or societal impact. The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated ingenuity, creativity and dedication to improving our world. This award may not be awarded every year.
Submit a NominationAward Criteria and Awardees

Meritorious Service Citation

This special citation was established by the faculty of the College of Engineering in 1975 to recognize people "whose sustained and extraordinary personal service has had significant and lasting effect on the advancement of the College of Engineering." Members of the faculty and the Dean of Engineering may nominate people to be recognized.
Submit a NominationAward Criteria and Awardees

Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni

The Texnikoi Award was first presented in 1955 and has been given annually since then. The requirements of the recipient are as follows:

  1. A person who has risen rapidly in the field of engineering.
  2. A person who has made outstanding contributions through civic and social activities.
  3. Approximately 40 years of age or under.
  4. A person from one of the engineering departments not recognized in the recent past.

The precedence has been established that a department should not be considered for two years after one of their alumni receives the award.
Submit a NominationAward Criteria and Awardees